Thursday, January 7, 2010

Outlook 2003 Out of Office Assistant - "The command is not available"

When trying to adjust setting in the Out of Office Assistant, you get the following error message:

The command is not available.  See the program documentation about how to use this.

To fix:

Go to Help > About Microsoft Office Outlook and click on the "Disabled Items..." button.  You will see outex.dll listed.  Click on it and then click the Enable button.  Fixed!

NOTE:  For this fix to work, you must be connected to an Exchange server.  If you are using Outlook for personal, then this error is expected since the Out of Office Assistant is not usable without Exchange.

Word Cannot Start the Converter mswrd632

Problem:  You try a .doc file and get the error message "Word cannot start the converter mswrd632" and nothing opens.

Microsoft states this happens because "...a file has the ".doc" file name extension, but the content is a plain text file or another kind of file that is not a Microsoft Word binary file, and that file is opened in Microsoft Word..."

This problem appears after installing Microsoft's security update 973904.

How to "fix" it:

1.  Open the Registry Editor and browse to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Text Converters\Import\

2.  Delete "MSWord6.wpc"

If you are not familiar with the Registry Editor:

1.  Go to Start > Run... and type:  notepad

2.  Click OK.

3.  Notepad will open.  Copy and paste the following lines.  Make sure you copy all three lines, meaning there should be a blank line in between the two lines with text.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Text Converters\Import\MSWord6.wpc]



4.  Go to File > Save As... and save the file to your Desktop as:  AllowImport.reg


5.  Click Save.  Locate the file "AllowImport" on your desktop and double-click it.  Click Yes and OK and you should be able to open those files.

Update:  Microsoft provided a "Fix it for me" solution for this issue.

How to Make iPhones Work with Exchange 2003 without a Front-End Server

The popularity of iPhones can't be ignored and with its marketing heavily promoting its compatibility with Microsoft Exchange, users think they have all the info they need to insist that their iPhone should operate flawlessly with their employer's email server.  In reality, an organization needs more than just a single Exchange server to serve the iPhone users in the most secure fashion.  A front-end server will get you up an running easily, but what if you only have a single Exchange server?

The reason a single server model doesn't work is because ActiveSync doesn't work with forms-based authentication and SSL.  (In reality, this is a fix for all ActiveSync devices, not just for iPhones).  There is a workaround, however:

Note:   This process will interrupt Outlook Web Access service.  Be sure to plan accordingly, though it should take very long to complete these steps.

1.  On the Exchange 2003 server, open the System Manager.

2.  Expand Administrative Groups > (first group listed) > Servers > (your Exchange server) > Protocols > HTTP.

3.  Right-click "Exchange Virtual Server" and select "Properties"

4.  Click the Settings tab and uncheck "Enable Forms Based Authentication.  Click OK and close System Manager.

5.  Restart IIS.
  • Option 1:   From Computer Mangement, right-click "Internet Information Services (IIS) Manager" and go to All Tasks > Restart IIS...
  • Option 2:  Go to Start > Run.. and enter:   IISRESET /NOFORCE
6.   In IIS, go to Web Sites > Default Web Site.

7.  Right-click the "Exchange" virtual directory, go to All Tasks > Save Configuration to a File...

8.  For a File Name, you can use whatever you want (ExchangeVDir is in Microsoft's example).

9.  Right-click "Default Web Site" and select New > Virtal Directory (from file).

10.  Click "Browse" and locate the file you created in step 8, click "Open" and then "Read File.

11.  Under "Select a configuration to import" click "Exchange" and then OK.

12.  A message will indicate that the directory already exists, so select "Create a new virtual directory" and type "exchange-oma" in the "Alias" box.  Click OK.

13.  Right-click the "exchange-oma" virtual directory and select "Properties."

14.  Go to the Directory Security tab and click the Edit button under "Authentication and access control."

15.  Make sure only Integrated Windows authentication and Basic authentication are enabled.  Click OK.

16.  Under the Directory Security tab, click the Edit button under "IP address and domain name restrictions."

17.  Select "Denied access," click "Add," click "Single computer" and enter the IP address of your Exchange server (the one you're making all these changes on).  Click OK twice.

18.  Under "Secure communications" click the "Edit" button and verify that "Require secure channel (SSL) is not enabled.  Click OK.

19.  Close IIS Manager.

20.  In the registry, browse to this location:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\MasSync\Parameters

21.  Right-click "Parameters," click New > String Value. 

22.  Type "ExchangeVDir" (without quotes and exactly as capitalized).  Then modify "ExchangeVDir" and give it a value of "/exchange-oma" (again, without the quotes).

23.  Restart IIS (see Step 5).

24.  Re-enable forms-based authentication for Outlook Web Access, if desired, by re-checking the box in steps 1-4.

25.  Restart IIS once again and you should be able to connect to your Exchange server using Activesync!  If you see some glitches, try restarting the server.

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Data Execution Prevention - Internet Explorer

Data Execution Prevention can be turned off completely, but it's kind of a pain.  If you find that it's only interfering with Internet Explorer, then this is any easy fix.

Symptoms:  Either Internet Explorer quickly shuts down on its own or you see the following window appear when trying to open the browser:


1.  Go to Start > Run and type the following:  inetcpl.cpl

2.  Press OK and the Internet Explorer Options window will appear.

3.  Go to the Advanced tab.

4.  Uncheck "Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks*"  (It's near the bottom)

5.  Click OK and Internet Explorer should open just fine.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Blackberry Won't Turn On

I've seen it several times:  a user's Blackberry stays powered off with a black screen.  This likely happened after you disconnected your phone in the middle of an update.  The only indication of life is the blinking red light in the corner.  Nothing seems to wake it up and the Desktop Manager doesn't recognize that anything is connected.  What do you do?

This:

1)  Make sure you have Blackberry's Desktop Manager installed.
2)  Go to Start > Run and copy and paste the following line exactly (meaning with the quotation marks):

"c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader\loader.exe" /nojvm

3)  The Application Loader Wizard will appear -- click "Next."
4)  In the "Connection:" drop-down menu, you should see "USB-PIN: UNKNOWN".  Click the "Next" button.
5)  You should then see a list of applications ready to be installed for your Blackberry.  Hit Next and Finish and you are well on your way to getting your Blackberry back to life. Congrats!  Just don't disconnect anything and let the lengthy process finish completely.

NOTE:  If you do not see a list of applications mentioned in step 5 and instead see the message "The Blackberry Desktop Software does not have Blackberry Device Software for the device that you have connected to the computer.  Contact your wireless service provider or system administrator," then you must download Blackberry's Operating System for your carrier and device.  Just select the appropriate carrier and network type, select your Blackberry model from the list and download the latest version.  Install this download and follow the above steps again and you should be on the right path.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Outlook 2003 Will Not Open

No matter how many times you click the Outlook icon, it never pops up on your screen.  Sometimes it has started, but you would never know because the graphic user interface never appears.  Try this:

1.  Press the Ctrl + Alt + Del keys together.
2.  Click on the "Image Name" column header (this sorts all processes alphabetically).
3.  Look for "OUTLOOK.EXE".
4.  Click on every instance of it and click the End Process button until none are listed.

At this point, you may be able to open Outlook.

So what happened?  I often blame Outlook problems on Plug-ins.  iTunes has been especially troublesome lately as the iPhone seeks to integrate with every piece of software produced thus far.  The iTunes plug-in allows iPhones to synchronize with Outlook contacts.  I suggest finding other ways to accomplish this, because the iTunes plug-in has been a repeat offender in cases such as this -- it will re-install itself when you update iTunes.  Other repeat offenders have been Google Desktop and Skype, but these have been less common as they released updates.

How to remove plug-ins:

Go to Tools > Options > Other tab > Advanced Options button > COM Add-ins.  This is where you'll find the iTunes plug-in and possibly others listed.  I personally remove all of these, but by all means keep what you find valuable. 

If you are still unable to open Outlook, try going to Start > Run... and type in:
Outlook /safe
(note the space before the slash)

This will open Outlook without any plug-ins.  Once open, you can then disable problematic plug-ins as instructed above.

More-advanced users can remove plug-ins through the registry by cleaning out this key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Office\Outlook\Addins\

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Duplicate Contacts on Blackberry Using Blackberry Enterprise/Professional

If a Blackberry isn't wiped out prior to configuring it for use on Blackberry Enterprise Services, then duplicate contact can appear, causing a frustrating need to delete the unwanted entries one by one.  Sometimes this can also occur if a user attempts to synchronize from the Blackberry Desktop Manager on their computer.  Two "Desktop" contact lists are shown on the device and one of them is configured for wireless synchronization.  You can't clear out an address book database on a BE blackberry because it's marked as read-only -- what do you do?

You reset the address book from the device, which completely clears the address book and repopulates it based on the Blackberry Enterprise Server information:

1.  On the Blackberry device, go to Contacts and open Options.
2.  Type:  rset (there isn't a field to type it in, just type it while Options is open.)
3.  Confirm that you want to wipe the contacts.

The address book will then appear blank, but will soon repopulate with the current contact information.