To freeze multiple columns in an Excel spreadsheet, click on the column to the right of the column you wish to freeze and click through the following:
View > Freeze Panes > Freeze Panes
You can do this for rows, too.
If you want both rows and columns to freeze, then click the single cell you wish to start scrolling with, and go through the same menus above.
Wednesday, March 3, 2010
Tuesday, March 2, 2010
Blackberry - "My Number" is "Unknown"
When you go to make a call, you notice that "My Number" doesn't actually list your number, it just says "Unknown". You can manually add this by doing the following:
Go to Settings > Options > Advanced Options > SIM Card
Click the button just to the left of the trackball to bring up an options menu and select "Edit SIM Phone Number".
Enter your phone number and press the trackball to save the number.
Done!
Go to Settings > Options > Advanced Options > SIM Card
Click the button just to the left of the trackball to bring up an options menu and select "Edit SIM Phone Number".
Enter your phone number and press the trackball to save the number.
Done!
Labels:
Blackberry
Saturday, January 23, 2010
Skype Virus Automatically Sends Facebookgallery.info links
Here's how you get infected:
What's worse it that you can't download the regular virus-removal tools because when you click to download one, you get a page that says "Google Error. Not Found. The requested URL /Files/ProcessExplorer.zip was not found on this server". NOTE: This came up when I tried to download Process Explorer to stop services. See below:
Also, if you already have tools available, they close shortly after opening.
Here's how to remove it:
1) Edit the hosts by going to Start > Run... and entering the following:
notepad "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts"
2) Scroll down a little ways and delete everything at the bottom. It's going to be a bunch of garbled text. After deleting, then save the changes.
NOTE: If you're not comfortable with this, you can try HostXpert, but you'll have to download it on another computer and transfer it to the infected computer before you can use it. Just run it and click "Restore MS Hosts File"
4) Run "nothing.exe" and accept everything it wishes to do and you'll be virus-free soon. It may require a restart.
One day you're on your computer and you get a message from a friend asking you to look at these crazy pictures of them, making sure they look okay (there are other variants of this message). The links points to a site called facebook.info, in the example below it's http://srv06.facebookgallery.info:89/. You click the link and accept all the prompts after that and the next think you know, those same messages are being sent from you to friends on your Skype list.
The following example says "I can't believe I got tagged in this picture!! Do you think I look ok?"
The following example says "I can't believe I got tagged in this picture!! Do you think I look ok?"
Also, if you already have tools available, they close shortly after opening.
Here's how to remove it:
1) Edit the hosts by going to Start > Run... and entering the following:
notepad "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts"
2) Scroll down a little ways and delete everything at the bottom. It's going to be a bunch of garbled text. After deleting, then save the changes.
NOTE: If you're not comfortable with this, you can try HostXpert, but you'll have to download it on another computer and transfer it to the infected computer before you can use it. Just run it and click "Restore MS Hosts File"
3) The above steps get rid of the Google Error pages, so now you're free to download any tool you wish to fight this thing. I used ComboFix to get rid of this thing. Download it to your desktop and rename it to "nothing.exe" -- otherwise the virus will recognize it and close it automatically.
4) Run "nothing.exe" and accept everything it wishes to do and you'll be virus-free soon. It may require a restart.
Sometimes an extra step is needed if you lose your internet connection after performing these steps. Right-click the My Computer icon and go to Properties. Click on the Hardware tab and click the Device Manager button. In the list under Network Adapters you'll see two copies of each of your network devices. Uninstall the copy without the exclamation point next to it -- it'll remove both copies from the list. Then go to Action > Scan for hardware changes. Windows should detect your network device drivers and get you going again.
Labels:
Skype,
Virus Removal,
Windows XP
Tuesday, January 19, 2010
Locate Link Browser Box Opens When Clicking E-Mail Link in Outlook 2003
Problem: You receive an email with a "mailto:" link to someone's email address. When clicking it, a new email window should open. Instead, a "Locate Link Browser" windows opens asking you to locate a file.
There are several suggestions saying to modify the URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol file type behavior, but I found this to be the easiest solution:
Open Internet Explorer and go to Tools > Internet Options > Programs tab.
Change your default email client to Outlook Express and hit Apply.
Now change your default email client back to Outlook 2003. Hit OK.
Everything should be working now.
There are several suggestions saying to modify the URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol file type behavior, but I found this to be the easiest solution:
Open Internet Explorer and go to Tools > Internet Options > Programs tab.
Change your default email client to Outlook Express and hit Apply.
Now change your default email client back to Outlook 2003. Hit OK.
Everything should be working now.
Labels:
Outlook 2003
Wednesday, January 13, 2010
Spam from Skype
Skype does not scan your system or Skype itself for viruses. This simple statement will help you deal with messages you receive on Skype similar to the following:
[Time] System Monitor ® says: WINDOWS REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION
=============================
ATTENTION ! Security Center has detected
malware on your computer !
Affected Software:
Microsoft Windows NT Workstation
Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows Win98
Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Impact of Vulnerability: Remote Code Execution / Virus Infection /
Unexpected shutdowns
Recommendation: Users running vulnerable version should install a repair
utility immediately
Your system IS affected, download the patch from the address below !
Failure to do so may result in severe computer malfunction.
Just ignore it. Or better yet, prevent these messages from reaching you (or someone who just doesn't seem to get it).
This is how:
1. In Skype, go to Tools > Options.
2. Click on "Privacy"
3. Select "Only allow people in my Contact list to contact me.
There. No more anonymous people sending messages about viruses that aren't on your computer.
[Time] System Monitor ® says: WINDOWS REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION
=============================
ATTENTION ! Security Center has detected
malware on your computer !
Affected Software:
Microsoft Windows NT Workstation
Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows Win98
Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Impact of Vulnerability: Remote Code Execution / Virus Infection /
Unexpected shutdowns
Recommendation: Users running vulnerable version should install a repair
utility immediately
Your system IS affected, download the patch from the address below !
Failure to do so may result in severe computer malfunction.
Just ignore it. Or better yet, prevent these messages from reaching you (or someone who just doesn't seem to get it).
This is how:
1. In Skype, go to Tools > Options.
2. Click on "Privacy"
3. Select "Only allow people in my Contact list to contact me.
There. No more anonymous people sending messages about viruses that aren't on your computer.
Labels:
Skype
How to Recover Hard Deleted Items using Outlook Web Access 2003
You've accidentally deleted a message permanently and you don't see it listed when you go to Tools > Recover Deleted Items. What do you do? Well, if you're on Exchange 2003, there's a little workaround through Outlook Web Access (OWA).
1. Use this address as a model: https://ServerName/exchange/Username/inbox/?cmd=showdeleted
Change "ServerName" to the name of your exchange server and "Username" to the user account you're trying to recover deleted items from. You can also change "inbox" to any folder you have on your mailbox, such as Sent Items and Calendar.
2. Log in with the user's credentials.
3. Check the box next to the message(s) you need to recover and click "Recover."
4. Messages should start appearing in Outlook and on OWA.
1. Use this address as a model: https://ServerName/exchange/Username/inbox/?cmd=showdeleted
Change "ServerName" to the name of your exchange server and "Username" to the user account you're trying to recover deleted items from. You can also change "inbox" to any folder you have on your mailbox, such as Sent Items and Calendar.
2. Log in with the user's credentials.
3. Check the box next to the message(s) you need to recover and click "Recover."
4. Messages should start appearing in Outlook and on OWA.
Labels:
Exchange 2003,
Outlook 2003
Friday, January 8, 2010
How to Find Outlook's Temporary Folder
It happens all the time: a user opens an attachment in Outlook, edits the document and then saves it. Sounds okay, right? The problem is, they never told the document where to save it to and Outlook automatically saved it to the temporary folder. A temporary folder you can't browse to. So what do you do?
Method 1 (The Easy Method):
Download OLK Finder 2.0. Run it, select which version of Outlook you are running and watch the OLK Content window fill with your temporary files. From this window you can right-click and copy the file you are looking for and paste it into another folder for future use.
This handy tool works for several versions of Outlook.
Method 2:
In the Registry Editor, browse to one of the following keys:
Outlook 2003: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\11.0\Outlook\Security
Outlook 2007: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\Security
Double-click "OutlookSecureTempFolder" and copy the value data. Go to Start > Run... and paste the data to open the folder.
Method 1 (The Easy Method):
Download OLK Finder 2.0. Run it, select which version of Outlook you are running and watch the OLK Content window fill with your temporary files. From this window you can right-click and copy the file you are looking for and paste it into another folder for future use.
This handy tool works for several versions of Outlook.
Method 2:
In the Registry Editor, browse to one of the following keys:
Outlook 2003: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\11.0\Outlook\Security
Outlook 2007: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\Security
Double-click "OutlookSecureTempFolder" and copy the value data. Go to Start > Run... and paste the data to open the folder.
Labels:
Outlook 2003,
Outlook 2007
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)